Warning: Lead Poisoning or The Man Who Chewed Plastic.

2 I have always been curious why my mind and body have had such a difficult time getting along. The other week I was over at my parent’s house. My mother noticed that I was chewing on a white Bic plastic pen and she said, “You always have loved chewing on plastic.”  I thought nothing of it and continued to masticate my pen. Then, yesterday I heard a report on the radio that was talking about the massive amounts of lead that are in children’s toys made of plastic. I added two and two together in my obsessive compulsive mind and decided to research whether or not there is lead in plastic Bic pens. Of course what I found out horrified me. I decided to call my mother and ask her for how long I have been interested in sticking plastic objects into my mouth. “You had a plastic pacifier and were always sticking your plastic toys in your mouth. When I or your father would take them away- you would go into terrible convulsions of tears,” she replied. I became very concerned that I have been chewing on plastic for my entire life (I am perpetually chewing on Bic pens and have done so since I quit smoking ten years ago) and decided to do research on the health effects of chewing on plastic.

Lead poisoning is the leading health risk associated with chewing on plastic. There are major crusades right now waged by various health and environmental organizations to get lead out of the plastic that manufactures are using to make children’s toys. The health symptoms of lead poisoning for children are:

Various neurological and behavioral problems.
Organ damage
Blood toxicity

This was not good news for me. I researched more trying to investigate what the ramifications could be for an adult who has been chewing on plastic for years. I searched all over the Internet coming up with various symptoms of lead poisoning- but I wanted to know what the health effects on a grown man who chewed on plastic his entire life could be. Then after a few days of searching I found just the information I was looking for.

The information is “A Homeopaths Guide To Detecting And Treating Disease.” I managed to find this book on accident while perusing the health section of a bookstore. In the book there is a page devoted to describing the long-term health effects of chewing on plastic made with lead. The symptoms of lead poisoning from long term exposure to chewing on plastic are:

Neurological disorders: morbid proclivities, perpetual thoughts of impending doom, depression and panic disorder.

Behavioral problems: ADD, Autism, Obsessive Compulsive disorder, Agoraphobia, Addictive Personality Disorder.

Physiological Symptoms: respiratory infections and lung disease, heart ailments, kidney flatulence, liver turpitude and poor circulation (to name a few).

I read these symptoms in disbelief. I could see my hands shivering. It was as if I had just figured out the riddle that had confused my entire life. Each day, always wondering about what is wrong with me has driven me to the brink of insanity and now- I had the answer to all of my health “challenges,” a code by which to understand what is wrong with me. I bought the book and returned home to read and re-read the section on lead poisoning. I did some more research on the Internet and found more information about my condition. Adults who chew on plastic made with lead are also susceptible to ulcers, low ambition, delusions, hysteria and paranoia. It is I; all these symptoms are describing me!!

I am uncertain about what I am going to do to get rid of the lead poisoning that has turned my life into torment. I have a few ideas. For now, just knowing what I am being affected or infecting by is providing me with relief. The book that I bought has provided me with certain herbs that I can take that will help rid my system of some of the lead that is within me- but for the most part the after affects of lead poisoning are chronic and difficult to recover from. I am accepting myself as I am.

I have however gotten more active in joining campaigns to stop manufacturers from making toys and plastic pens with lead. There are numerous other sustainable materials that could be used to save a young child from ending up like a demented and paranoid person such as myself. One of the greatest joys of childhood is sticking plastic toys into your mouth and I would hate to see childhoods greatest pleasure remain its greatest risk. So today I have contributed a small amount of money to assist an environmental campaign in fighting their anti-lead crusade. I hope that my attempts to safeguard the youth of tomorrow will be good enough karma to change the destiny of man who has been chewing on plastic all his life .

24 thoughts on “Warning: Lead Poisoning or The Man Who Chewed Plastic.

  1. This is really interesting. I didn’t know that something like plastic pens could have such an effect on people.

  2. There is help on the horizon. The calvary is almost here.

    I know of a man who pissed a miracle. I am waiting for him to send some pee my way. Maybe if your lucky he can ……

    xoxoxo

    Love Renee

  3. I understand how you feel since I just found out what’s wrong with me, mercury and lead poisoning. Anyway, don’t give up hope by any means. I found a doctor who gave me Detoxamin, EDTA chelation suppository treatment, and you can get it without a prescription at a small portion of the cost of IV chelation. Look it up, and be sure to supplement as recommended or it can take out other minerals and things you need. I’m starting tomorrow and looking forward to getting better!

  4. Woah. Nice article. I’m 25 years old and have been chewing on pens my whole life. Pens, the rings off coke bottles, but mainly pens. Gotta love the little black part of a good clean bic pen. But i’ve chewed a lot of offbrands too, which has me more concerned, for i’m sure the cheaper brands are more likely to use worse chemicals. I had this thought a while back, and have since reduced the amount I chew on, but I’ve found I just smoke more now. Still working on both habbits lol. But I’m gonna post your article out a bit, if you don’t mind. I think more people would care if they realized its more than just children toys to watch out for.

  5. Sounds like the testing was not very valid. Its like saying Drug Abuse causes stress, when in fact Stress precedes Drug Abuse. Whether my example is valid is not the issue. Maybe people who were stressed became depressed and for some reason chewing on a pen cap relieved some of this tension… Or how about people who eat sugar cause car accidents. Everyone eats sugar and we all at one time will get in an accident of some sort. In your example, chewing on plastic probably is a common factor for most of the subjects, but it might not the causal factor. All Im saying is that many studies are inconclusive because they haven’t ruled out everything else. Think scientifically.

  6. Thank you for your insightful comments. I agree with certain points that you make but overall I…well I guess I want to say this: nothing, and I mean nothing, can be predicated with any real certainty (not even science) as to the “true nature of things.” All projects (medical, scientific, religious, intellectual etc..) are founded on what Nietzsche called “nothing.” I would rather not think scientifically because I often find that thinking scientifically detracts from my participation in and enjoyment of my creative imagination. “…….The Man Who Chewed Plastic” is just some thoughts that I have taken from my experience and filtered through “nothingness” and then indulged my creative imagination in. This keeps writing “fun.” I know nothing for certain.

  7. Wow absurdistry that was a truly bad ass comment. I stumbled across this while I was thinking similar thoughts concerning pens and toxicity as I like many others have said have a propensity to chew on the little fuckers.

    Regardless of the validity I think its simply easier to err on the side of caution and discontinue pen chewing post haste.

  8. Well I dont know about all the science stuff but i do know I have been chewing on plastic since i was a little boy and yes since i turned 30 i notice i have start having alot of these symptoms you describe. ” I had a bic pen top in my mouth when i was reading it” behavioral disorders dont just suddenly appear and i didnt really have these things when i was younger so I think you are on to something If anything you have stopped me from chewing plastic. Oh and you can forget about the government helping out with this it will be a full 50 years before they even investigate!

  9. I’ve chewed pens down so far that the ink comes out. Straws are great too! You can pick your teeth with a straw as well, helps to get the extra plastic out of your teeth! Those bottle rings are good too. Anyone out there like styrofoam cups? I don’t eat them, I just like to bite them.

  10. Thank you for this post. I have had terrible roseaca, obsessive /compulsive, issue and a lot of other issue, which I have found are related to lead poisoning from when I was a child. My family, parents and siblings, does not have these issues, so it is not environmental for food related. I did think of what I did differently and that was chew on plastic pens and the back of hats. I had wondered where I got it from. Thank you for the info… now I know after thousands of dollars of different medical treatments. I am already improving.

  11. I have found that Shaklee’s Liquid Lea works fast to get the levels down. If you need a dealer my sister is a dealer. I am not just trying to advertise for her. I know from experince. What the Dr. prescribed at the office kept us going to have blood drawn. It was maybe a month or less on Shaklee Liquid Lea and the Dr. was shocked at the results!!! Never had to go back for blood draws!!! They have lots of reports of this particular formula working well. Also, I also believe that chewing on plastic causes lead poisoning. I asked my Dr. and she said yes. I applaud your effort!

  12. Wow. Did you go to the doctor’s to get it checked? It’s a simple test. I think the presence of BPA in plastic is far more of a concern than lead.

  13. Greetings..

    My name is Brando. G. And i really wish to speak with you. Could u please message me back letting me know you are there. I have a very serious issue and I like you want to help others like myself. I am not telling you to reply.. i am begging you. God bless..
    B G

  14. I love chewing plastic. i dont know why. i m pretty addictive of it . now by learning this fact . I Quit Plastic.

Leave a Reply

