Living Underwater

images-1 It does not take a perceptive individual to be able to see that the world and everyone within this world is in great danger. From the toxins flying freely in the air to the life denying wars and corporate greed- antagonists of life such as global warming, violence, disease and recessions are here to stay for awhile. I had a Teacher once, many years ago, who taught me the fundamental law of life on earth. He taught that human beings are the microcosm of the larger world environment, which is the macrocosm. If the inner condition of human being is sick and run down the outer conditions of the world will be a direct reflection of this inner malaise. This theory works the other way around as well- if the outer world environment is ill so is our inner human environment. One is directly connected to the other, and the idea that our actions are separate from the larger world environment is simply misguided and the single reason why these current global problems are going to stick around for awhile.

I have tried to cultivate wisdom, love and good health within myself- with the expectation that somehow this will save the world from what seems to be her inevitable end (as we know it). But all of my attempts seem futile considering that all around me, I see things and people in a million little pieces of dis-repair. The skies are filled with smog, the news is filled with violence, war and economic recession on an hourly basis. The school in which I teach is filled with a poverty so overwhelming, that ants are currently eating away at the desks in  classroom.

Two weeks ago I read an article about the health benefits of spending time underwater. Not only does spending two minutes a day underwater improve your stress levels but it also induces a sense of over all well being that is said to cure high blood pressure, panic disorder, OCD, fibromyalgia, connective tissue disorders, arthritis, migraines, diabetes type one and various other bronchial and cardiac stress induced disease. Considering that I am a reflection of the world around me, it is only natural to understand why I experience a variety of health challenges. Like any individual who is determined to get well, I drink wine and beer on a nightly basis, do Yoga, masturbate at least twice a week, watch what I eat and take on any other life style changes that may add to my inner sense of well being. Oh, I also have been living, underwater.

All day long I look forward to the time that I will spend in my tub. When I make it home through the smog and grid lock traffic, I immediately run into the bathroom and start running the warm bath water before I have even put down my work day baggage. All day long between the screaming teenagers and the demanding administration, I have been dreaming about the time I will be spending underwater. The thought of being underwater pulls me forward like the most irresistible force of entropy. When I am finally home, and the bath tub is barley filled- I strip down into the nude, fill the tub with lavender salts and then plop right in.

My wife has been concerned because I have not been eating dinner lately since I am spending so much time in my tub (I do not like to eat at night because food in my system gives me cramps when I am underwater). On some days, I will spend up to six hours underwater. I will use a large straw as my underwater breathing device and I will lie still in the sanctity of my tub, until my skin becomes so water logged that I have no choice but to get out and go to bed. When I am underwater I feel like the outer world is washed away and my inner world is filled up with a sense of crystalline equanimity. I am a man at peace, desiring nothing and needing to go nowhere; like a holly Samana on a spiritual journey, I am able to dwell in the calm abode within myself. I have often thought that the reason why spending so much time living underwater is so helpful for me is because it reminds me of being in my mothers womb. My mother told me once that when I was born I resisted coming out with all my might (she could feel my little hands grabbing onto the sides of her uterus), and after twenty one hours of radical resistance the powers that be were able to yank me into a world that was not as wet and warm.

If I could live underwater I would. I would stay in my tub all day in the silence of the underwater world. Unfortunately, man can not make a living in the underwater world and he must come up for air once in awhile (so that he can afford the tub and the water in which he rests). So I live a divided life. Part of my day is spent in the world of human aspirations. I pass on my fragmented knowledge to the youth of America and in return receive enough money to be considered upper lower class Teacher with some cultural legitimacy. I am able to afford rent on a decent sized abode in the ghetto, the pets that I love and the wife that I adore. The world of human aspirations occupies half of my waking time, but when I am done with that transitory world- I say good bye to my wife, my work, my writing, my birds, my cats, my dog and I fill up my tub and enter into the underwater world. It is here, in the sanctity of my tub, that I am fully myself, fully at peace in the nude. I lie on my back looking up at the world through my clouded speedo goggles with a feeling of deep reassurance that what I am doing is not only good for me but also for the larger macrocosm, which is a direct reflection of a man who is living underwater.

One thought on “Living Underwater

  1. ‘Oh I also have been living underwater.’

    So understated at the end of the sentence and so perfect.

    The food at night, the cramps.

    Thank you for doing your part for the macrocosm, your generosity is appreciated.

    Perfect as usual.

    Peace

    Renee

Leave a Reply

