Caught Up In His Own Head (Post #407)

unnamed“Possibly he is the kind of person who can get caught up in his own head,” I heard a well dressed black man say into his cell phone as he walked past me. I was sitting on a park bench, enjoying an afternoon with nothing to do. The man was dressed so nicely and walked so quickly that I presumed he was a person of some kind of importance. A man on a mission (probably having something to do with money).

And there I sat on a park bench (with legs crossed) in sweat pants, a t-shirt, High Top Converse All-Stars and I am not even sure if I brushed my hair that day. As I watched the man quickly fade away into the tree and grass filled distance, this is what I was thinking:

Really? Is that such a bad thing? Because if it is maybe I am under qualified for most things. I don’t know who he was talking about. I wonder if he was talking about me? It is possible but come on- not everything relates back to you. Who else out there gets caught up in their head as much as I do? Are there others? I wonder if that man was judging someone for a potential job and deemed them unworthy because of their tendency to get caught up in their head? Is it really such a bad quality? Enough to get you judged by those who claim to be more together? I don’t mind getting caught up in my head from time to time. It actually happens a lot more than that. My head is a good place to be. Sometimes not but generally I like being in my head. Getting caught up in the head can be a pleasant way to have a good conversation. Imaginative. Maybe that was a man who does not value imagination. Who knows. I wonder if he was talking about me?

And then I noticed an attractive lady walk by. She was walking her small dog and I watched her and the dog as they walked. She smiled at me and I at her. There are few things that can get me out of my head like an attractive lady can. It’s momentary, but it works every time.

Leave a Reply

